A-line Skirt with ruffles

A-line skirt with ruffles

I wanted to try making a tailored skirt.  It seems so much easier to just throw an elastic waist in, but I really wanted to learn how to tailor one.

So, I got a book at the library on drafting your own pattern and made a pattern for Virginia.  Then I used some material we had laying around. Not my favorite material but I couldn’t afford to pick up what I wanted.  The skirt went together quickly and easily.

Then, I wanted a ruffle at the bottom of the skirt to add some flare so I used a pink linen shirt I had to make the ruffle.  She wore the skirt a few times and then I found this picture of the turkey ruffle skirt that Dana made from danamadeit.com.  (I had to figure out how she made it.  I did some searching and figured it out.  It’s actually really easy to do it just looks complicated.  Here’s a great tutorial on the technique. The end product is a pillow but same idea: http://floralshowers.com/sewing/ruffle-pillow-tutorial/)

turkey ruffle skirt that Dana made

I simply had to try making ruffles.  So I went to the local thrift store and bought a sheer pink curtain for $1.  Then I went home, cut it, and stitched it to Virginia’s A-line skirt.

I liked the skirt better without the ruffles. I think that’s because the skirt pattern is too busy.  Maybe if I covered the entire skirt with the ruffles so that you didn’t see the pattern any longer I’d like it better.

Way fun idea and way cute, I just put it together poorly.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Katherine
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 21:24:59

    Very cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

