Simple boys PJ’s

Sherrad in flannel sheet Jammers

I found this really simple tutorial on making pants from a dish towel.  I wanted to try it out but my son is to big to fit into a dish towel. They look uncomfortable anyway.  But, I had a flannel sheet that I could use.  (I get all my sheets that I turn into clothes from the local thrift store for $1.)

The tutorial: http://dollarstorecrafts.com/2009/04/dish-towel-shorts/

Then I needed a shirt pattern.  A book at the library offered me a good one.  But, since then I have found several good tutorials on line.

Here’s a good shirt tutorial (This link has both the shirt and pattern tutorial links on it): http://www.danamadeit.com/2010/02/the-90-minute-shirt.html

My one piece of advice to add to it is to do as Dana says and use knit fabric around the neck and not cotton!

It’s a fun project!

Note:  I made this a little over a year ago and it was my first real sewing project ever.  So, if you are intimidated with sewing don’t be.  You too can sew!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katherine
    Jun 28, 2012 @ 21:26:39

    Using a flannel sheet is a great idea! I’d seen the shirt tutorial before, but was too intimidated to make a knit shirt. I think I will make a flannel one when the weather cools off. Thankfully pajamas are much more forgiving than clothes to be worn out in public.

    Reply

    • jewelboxcreek
      Jun 29, 2012 @ 18:03:07

      I understand. I was very intimidated when I first started sewing. I actually fought it a bit. I didn’t want to sew. And as you can tell, I have a long way to go. But, now I love it and it’s gotten much easier to dive into something. There are so many great sewing blogs out there that help a lot!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

