My search for a mother – “the most beautiful of all arts, the greatest of all professions”

Knott’s Berry Farm

Previously I posted about my personal search for a mother.   Because of my own mother’s mental issues she was unable to mother me.  I always felt that I needed to mother her – and so I did.

We were looking at this picture a few days ago and my husband pointed out that I was sitting on a manikin and that it was fitting that she would represent my mother in the photo.

The noblest calling in the world is motherhood. True motherhood is the most beautiful of all arts, the greatest of all professions. She who can paint a masterpiece, or who can write a book that will influence millions, deserve the plaudits and admiration of mankind; but she who rears successfully a family of healthy, beautiful sons and daughters whose immortal souls will exert influence throughout the ages long after paintings shall have faded, and books and statues shall have decayed or been destroyed, deserves the highest honor that man can give, and the choicest blessings of God.”  ― David O. McKay

Because of the past, and because of my understanding of what motherhood is and should be, I truly love my work and calling and seek to mother all who need mothering.

Leave a Reply

