Brigham Lawrence Young (1849-1924) Art work

My great great grandfather is Brigham Lawrence Young.  Here is a site that tells more about him.

In 1872 he was “engaged by Major J. W. Powell to participate in the Government Survey of the Grand Canyon, Kaibab Plateau, and Southern Utah tributaries of the Colorado River.”

Some years ago my husband and I happened upon these drawings and were able to scan them.  Brigham most likely drew them while participating in the government survey work.   I have never seen these drawings anywhere else and so would like to share them.

Kaibab

gyser

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. teensofalltrades
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 01:34:01

    I love these drawings! they are amazing!

    Reply

  2. Steven Hal Young
    Oct 01, 2012 @ 22:11:27

    Hey, I came across your blog and saw Great Grandpa’s drawings! It would have been nice to know him and ask him about Rhoda and the trip across the plains and how Kanab was in those days when he retired telling stories to Grandpa Ray & Millie before the Star burned down.

    Reply

  3. Mike Hall
    Jul 15, 2013 @ 21:49:54

    Just ran across this year-old post and I am glad you posted the pictures, I had seen the Kaibab ones (or ones like them with deer), but never those from Yellowstone.
    I would be interested in your connection to BL Young (and responder Steven Hal Young’s connection). I am a great great grandson, Mike Hall > Howard Hall > Luetta/Eleanor McAllister Hall > Ida Young McAllister > BL Young.
    Have you seen the book called Young’s History that Charnelle Manson put together? It has a great deal of content on Brigham Lawrence Young and also information about Rhoda Byrne Jared, Alfred Douglas and Adolphia Young. I have a hard copy, but it is no longer in print and I have never seen a digitized copy anywhere.
    If you are willing to make contact with a cousin, contact me at mdhall23@gmail.com.

    Reply

  4. Diane
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 15:17:24

    Hi, I am Diane Young Vandivere. My brother is Steven Young. B.L. Young is my
    Great Grandfather. Steve and I have talked about getting together to share info. I have cousins that live close by and would love to gather family history as well
    …let’s share!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

