A little gardening

We just moved last fall.  The last people who lived here didn’t do a lick of gardening in 20 years.  Which is rather nice for me because I don’t have to feel bad about tearing into the yard.  Here’s the beginnings of what will someday be a beautiful yard.

diggin gin, asa, sherrad, jasper 2-2013

We are going to pull up the entire strip and start fresh.  I envision an English style perennial garden.  Notice my helpers in the back there.  The sticks are supposed to be hitting the clods of law to get the dirt out of them.  I want to keep as much as possible in our yard.  Of course they found a much funner use.

sherrad 2-13-2013

diggin is funVirginia was determined to pull up the entire stip as one attached piece.  In the end we had to cut it into smaller pieces.

seeds fun 2-2013We’re starting seeds indoors while we wait to prepare the yard and for warmer weather.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. daddystractor
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 14:59:44

    Fun! And the view from your yard looks amazing!

    Reply

    • jewelboxcreek
      Feb 18, 2013 @ 15:44:42

      Oh my goodness! Your family is so cute! That’s really neat that you are able to continue the family business, work with and stay around family. I grew up on a farm that had been apart of our family for 5 generations. My family (great great grandparents) were the first to settle the area. After 150 years of my family working the land my dad has sold much of the land to developers. The farm I once knew is now homes and apartments. It’s really sad. I can’t wait to read more of your families experiences!

      Reply

  2. future.flying.saucers
    Feb 18, 2013 @ 19:44:27

    I hope you’ll show the final product!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

