Basket tutorial

virg basketThis is the basket Virginia wanted.

piping basket

The Moda Bake Shop has a great tutorial on it.  I ended up making it a little bigger than the Bake shops because it just didn’t look right to me.  So, I used more piping around the base.

Our local fabric shop doesn’t carry Honey Buns (they don’t sale here) and so Savann, the shop owner, suggested we use a Jelly Roll.  The only difference between a Honey Bun and Jelly Roll is 1 inch.  Honey bun’s are 1 1/2 inches while the Jelly rolls are 2 1/2 inches thick.  But, a Jelly Roll costs $36 locally.  What!?  So, I told Virginia to pick out some fabric, I’ll cut it myself.  Savann originally thought that would be a waist of fabric but after pointing out the cost difference she understood and helped to make my case to Virginia.

So, we purchased 1/4 yard of fabric of 4 different fabrics totally just over $10.

We cut the material into 1 1/2 inch strips then sewed the strips together.  Virginia wrapped the piping my mom sent us since I couldn’t find any of that in town either.

The hardest part about it this project was stitching the piping together after it had been wrapped with fabric.  My fingers are sore from pulling on the needle.

Virginia's basket 3-2013

Leave a Reply

