Adding a Skirt to a Swim Suit Tutorial

I have owned a black swim suit that I bought from Land’s End for 18 years and now my daughter is wearing it to swim lessons.  Last week as I watched her walk to the pool I thought, “wouldn’t it be nice to have a skirt attached to the suit?”  So here’s what I came up with.

swim suit

The swim suit and the material.

Dana at Dana Made It has an awesome circle skirt tutorial.  I used her measurement math to make the pattern.  Basically you measure your waist line and add 1 inch to it. (She added 2 inches but we are doing a swim suit not a skit)  Now divide your waist line + 1 inch by 6.28 and you have your waist line measurement.  In Virginia’s case we did 35+1 divided by 6.28=5.7.

Now I taped some paper together to get it large enough and then started in the corner and marked out a line that is 5.7 inches.

Here are Dana’s pictures: (Since I forgot to take some)

m1

m22

m3

After you mark out the waist line then you need to mark the length.  I chose 13 inches (Dana did 9 1/2).

m4

Now you have 1/4 of your circle skit and that is all you need.

Now fold your material in half length wise and then again in half width wise so you have 4 layers together.  I just looked at the picture on Dana’s site to see how so here are my pictures and hopefully they help.

circle portion

suit and circle

Now cut the material out.

cut circleAfter I cut the material I serged around the waist line and then around the bottom. You can use a sewing machine and zig zag around.  I did not hem the edge, I just left it serged and called it good.

serger

Now to attach the suit I marked the center of the front, the center of the back, and the two sides of the suit.  Then marked the same on the circle skirt portion and then pinned the two together.  You can see from the picture I didn’t stitch it perfectly, it proved a difficult task.  I ended up having to unstitch and re-stitch.  So, baste it first!

In the end I marked it with chalk so I knew where to sew it.  I used a ton of pins the first time but it wasn’t enough, I still veered up.  So mark the swim suit with a chalk line then follow the line.  Also, I tried to pin the tucks in at first, but it proved easier to use less pins, mark with chalk, and then sew in tucks every inch or so.

sewing skirt on

And the finished product.

finished

finished suit

She wore it to swim lessons today.

Virg in suit

suit

virginia diving

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. ครีมมาร์คทองคำ
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 23:35:22

    Have you ever considered creating an ebook or guest authoring on other sites?

    I have a blog centered on the same information you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I
    know my visitors would value your work. If you are even remotely
    interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

