Pin tucks in my comforter

pillows 011

pillows 020

My inlaws are coming in a couple of months and I don’t have a nice bed set so I decided to make one. (I’ll show you how I made the pillows in the next post.)  To create the comforter I found a cute comforter cover at Salvation Army for $2.00.  Then I put pin tucks in it.

I wanted them to be 4 inches apart. I was to lazy to cut out a piece of card board so I decided to use a binder.  I marked it with a plus.

002

Then I laid the comforter out wrong side up.  I had a little stain from the grease on the comforter so I started marking there to ensure that I would incorporate it into a pin tuck.

001I used a piece of chalk to mark it.  You can see the green marks if you look closely.  So on one row I marked the 2 edges of the binder all across it. Then I would move up one row and keep the marks at the edges of the binder at the bottom mark the middle of the binder at the top.  That way the pin tucks will be off set.  If you look at the picture of the finished product this will make sense.

012I tried using my new machine to make the pin tucks but it was having problems so I got out my industrial White machine.  Love it!  It can sew anything.  Pinch the marked spot and twist.  I would twist it as much as I possibly could (I liked that look the best) then sew across it three times.  Then go to the next mark and do it again and again and again.  It really isn’t that bad and goes quite quickly.

pillows 019

pillows 023

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. happylittlekiwi
    May 19, 2013 @ 02:24:56

    this looks soooo good!! great job 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

