Knitted Bear Hats

Last fall we were in the local hardware store and I saw some cute knitted hats for sale.  One of them was a bear.  That is where this story begins.  I immediately determined that my two youngest boys needed bear hats this winter.  I’ve already made a couple of hats using the “Kity Knits” hat pattern (pictured on right).kitty knits

But, I felt I needed further inspiration so I looked around on line and found a free bear hat pattern and a picture of a crotchet bear hat that would be a major source for inspiration.

Picture found doing a google images search.

Picture found doing a google images search.

The free pattern is one from “Animal Hats” by Rachel Henderson and is on line for all to use.

DIY-animal-hatsAfter all that, I began with a ball of black yarn and size 8 needles for the first hat.  I made the ear flaps first.

Cast on 3 st K1 row

P1 row and every other row

K1, M1, K1, M1, K1

continue with this pattern until you have 19 sts.

Make 2 ear flaps then it’s time to start the hat.

Cast on 7 sts, knit across the 19 ear sts to attach, then cast on 23 sts, K through the second ear flap (19 sts), and cast on 8 sts.

Now just knit and knit and knit around and around and around.  I just kept knitting and checking on how it fit my son until I liked it and then I shaped the head.

Round 1: *K5, k2tog, rep from * to end.

Round 2: and every alt round: k to end.

Round 3: *K4, k2tog, rep from * to end.

Round 5: *K3, k2tog, rep from * to end.

continue in this pattern until you are ready to tie it off.  I always use the Kitchner stitch to tie off and secure the end.

Crochet 2 rows of double crotchet stitch around the edge of the hat.

For the I-cords I followed the free patterned linked.

To make the white snout cast on 15 sts, K 1 row, P 1 row, etc until you have 8 rows then start to decrease.

Slip the first stitch, K 2 together, knit across until 3 sts left, K2 together, K1

P 1 row

Repeat the last 2 rows until 7 sts remain.  Then bind off using a standard binding technique.

Black nose: Cast on 6 sts, K1 row, P1 row, for the last row slip st, K2 together, K 3 sts. secure yarn and you’re done with it.

Use a needle and thread to sew the black nose to the white snout (the black piece of yarn handing down from the nose was one of the left over strands from knitting the nose – just secure it in place with the thread) and then sew the white snout to the head.

I used buttons for the eyes.

ephraim's hat 007

This is before I got the pom pom’s on the bottom of the I-cords.

ephraim's hat 001

For the brown hat I used size 5 needles and

Cast on 8 sts then K1 row

P1 row and every other row

K1, M1, K1, M1, K1, etc until you’ve come to the end then repeat pattern of P and K1, M1 for every other row until you have 23 sts.

Make 2 ear flaps for each hat. Then

Cast on 12 sts, K across 23 ear sts, Cast on 33 sts, K across 2nd ear flap (23 sts), cast on 12 sts.

K around and around and around until it is the size you want.  Then start the decrease.

Round 1: *K10, K2tog, rep from * to end (103 sts).

Round 2: and every other round: k to end.

Round 3: *K9, K2tog, rep from * to end.

Round 5: *K8, K2tog, rep from * to end.

repeat this pattern until you are down to 6-8 sts then bind off.

Crochet 1 row of Single Crochet stitch and 1 row of double crotchet stitch.  I changed it from the black hat because I thought 2 rows of double crochet stitches made it too frilly.

Follow the steps for the black hat to make the snout and nose.

For the ears I followed the linked pattern. As I was getting ready to take these pictures I kept looking at the brown hat and thought something was missing.  Then one of my other children pointed out that it was missing the ears.  Oh no!  It’s march and I’ve just finished the brown hat (only not really I’ve still got to add the ears).  At least the black hat has been used all winter long and hey there is always next winter.

005 004 006 008

Leave a Reply

