Math Curriculum

This is a product review for Saxon Math and RightStart.  We started out with Saxon and it’s fine but it is similar to the method I learned math in school when I was younger.  I have always been disappointed at how slowly I add numbers and that I didn’t know a better method.  I tried to teach the children to use an abacus but we really needed a curriculum that re-enforced the mental math that an abacus is based on.  So, I started with one child using RightStart and now I have 2 using it.  But, I kept the older 2 with Saxon since they’ve been using it so long and I already had their books for this year.

028Saxon is pretty basic.  But, RightStart has…

022RightStart Math level A comes with a packet of loose papers that are to be cut up and used with different lessons throughout the year.  So, I put them into clear sleeves in a binder,  As I come to a lesson that requires one of them, I cut it up, and label the sleeve. When we are done it is safely stored away where it will be ready the next time we need it.

025Nearly every lesson includes songs to sing, games to play, manipulatives to use, and is just plain fun.  Level C is the same way, not so many songs but every lesson has a game or 2 to play that help to re-enforce the new concept being introduced.  026The cards on the left are for times tables.  There are lots of games we use these cards for.  The cards on the right are for Level A.  Jasper loves to play memory with the finger number cards.

027There is a whole bucket full of different things we use.  Basically, I love this program and highly recommend it!  Oh, and my son that I switched over to this program last year is easily adding 2 digit numbers in his head. I don’t know if that would have happened otherwise.  I’ve learned new ways to add and subtract and do it much quicker myself!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. storiesofourboys
    Sep 20, 2014 @ 14:57:09

    O wow! This looks awesome. I may have to try Right Start next year!!

    Reply

    • jewelboxcreek
      Sep 21, 2014 @ 12:31:47

      What curriculum are you currently using? These are the only 2 I’ve tried so I’d be interested to hear about other options.

      Reply

      • storiesofourboys
        Sep 21, 2014 @ 19:53:00

        We use A Beka, which is great but doesn’t have as many fun activities that come with it. It wants you to make the activities and you know. … who has the time?

      • jewelboxcreek
        Sep 22, 2014 @ 02:31:45

        Ah, I see. That is one fabulous thing about RightStart, I don’t usually look at the lesson before hand. They are so well laid out and everything I need is right there so we just sit down and go through it together. It’s nice.

Leave a Reply

